Core

From the outskirts of my soul
Where the self-hatred, self-destruction, can’t command
I’ve worked my way back in
Delicate, slow, heartbreaking
Facing, taming the savage hell within
Piece by piece, deeper and deeper
Until escape has become an impossibility
And every moment, every thought
Must bend the currents surging through me
To keep the madness from consuming me
To go deeper, deeper, to the core
I’ve seen it, felt the rhythm, known the contrast from days of sanity
And intend one last descent, but worry
I’ve seen it, felt the future when the currents were just right
Supernova

 


Poetry Hub

Homepage

~ by Louis Naughtic on July 21, 2016.

Leave a Reply

