Journal Entry 9-8-16

Chris Stapleton – Tennessee Whiskey

Over the past two weeks or so, I’ve had around 20 cigarettes; a dramatic reduction from the 20 a day, that I’ve been averaging over the last couple months. During this time, I’ve realized that I started writing and smoking at nearly the same age, and that I smoke much more while writing.

So, writing for the blog has been very difficult. Not smoking, however, has been relatively easy due to having attempted to quit many times. My record is three months cold-turkey, but then I got some pussy; cigarettes and sex go together like bread and butter. Fuck, now I’m horny.

Anyway, my writing has been slowed accordingly, and will likely remain so until I figure out a way to not smoke, and still write. Or I’ll use the blog as an excuse to keep smoking. That aside, metacognition has been going excellently. But the need to smoke, for the blog, has hindered the metacognition. I’ll figure it all out in time.

Other than that, winter is coming. In the last decade, I’ve lived in climates that rarely dip below 50, and can get over 100. I spent most of my childhood in temperatures consistently under 55; I think we had a burst of 70 degree weather one year, and called it a heatwave.

So, many of my most fundamental memories, were formed in temperatures under 55 Fahrenheit; winter is a potent influence on my mental state. I feel more relaxed and alert in the cold, dark, and wet. Hell, I like being soaking wet in below-freezing temp.

So, I welcome winter back, as an old lover and comrade; I know she’ll fix my heartache, as she always has. Where ya been so long, Darlin’?

 


Journal Hub

Homepage

~ by Louis Naughtic on September 8, 2016.

Leave a Reply

