The Golden Age

Tom Waits – 2 19.

On the way home, from my last trip to Alaska, I was delayed in an airport. Bored, I found a bookstore. John C. Wright’s The Golden Age allured me for a variety of unimportant reasons – nothing to indicate this would become one of the most important components of my life.

I had left a woman whom, though I did not love, I was certainly attached to. I’d left people whom had become closer family than I’d otherwise know. I’d left my dog, who died within weeks of my absence. I’d left near-alcoholism. And I’d only gone there, in the first place, to run from first-love lost, and insanity-generating marijuana “addiction.”

Waiting in that damned airport, I was internally lost. I bought the book fully expecting the puppet shows that pass for art among the peasantry – something to kill the time. Something to stop me from thinking about the chaotic world around me, about my bad choices, ever-unraveling mind, and the future.

My attention was immediately arrested. That fine emotion, that comes when experiencing the new, grand, intricate, impactful, and true, kept me company. Amidst the storms of my mind, The Golden Age became solace.

Below a great deal of vividly defined imagery, and wide range of novel yet impactful concepts, The Golden Age‘s core is a message of truth, reason, and morality’s, superiority. Being a mere boy of.. I believe 16, I wasn’t very skilled in defining my thoughts; The Golden Age did this for me, while simultaneously refining my own – guiding me to principles which even now compose my core.

The setting is in the far future, wherein benevolent, omnipotent, and leashed, AI rule the peaceful solar system. Scientific understanding of the mind and it’s functions has allowed for far-reaching alteration and invention – and immortality. The majority of people spend their lives in a collective virtual reality – an environment which often leads to over-indulgence and delusion.

Then, stuff happens. I prefer not to ruin it. I will, however, say that the first book has one of the sickest burns in the history of burns.


Book Hub

Homepage

~ by Louis Naughtic on May 9, 2017.

2 Responses to “The Golden Age”

  1. Sounds intriguing, I’ll have to see if the library has it. Those airport bookstores can certainly be spaces where a book that was meant for you to find ends up finding you.
    A couple books from my adolescence include Ishmael, and My Ishmael by Daniel Quinn,
    Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintence, and Lila by Robert Pirsig, and Sophies World by Jostein Gaarder.
    Currently, I’m reading Phenomena: The Secret History of the U.S Gov’t investigations into Extrasrnsory Perception and Psychokinesis by Annie Jacobsen, which has been a very fun and fascinating read. Just finished a chapter on qi energy research which reminded me of your metacog work in healing some organ function. Hope things are going well.

  2. Em, Plato was thankfully among my adolescent reading, as was The Hobbit and the associated series, The Art Of War, and Moby Dick.

    That aside, be wary of superstitious inclinations, and promises of “enlightenment.” While perhaps momentarily comforting, they often rend a person of reasoning skills. And I wouldn’t say I “healed” anything: the body and mind are irrevocably linked; the mind runs the body. A desire to die began influencing subconscious physiologic processes. I merely rewired, so to speak.

Leave a Reply

