Community [Review]

Rodger Ridley & Grandpa Elliot – Dock Of The Bay [Cover].

Ah, Community. I’ve never been the type to regularly replay games [multiplayer notwithstanding], reread books, rewatch shows, etc. Usually, the gap of time between reviewing is the span of years – so that I can forget the original experience to some degree. Thus, my regular viewing of Community is an extreme oddity. It should be noted that, while watching any show, I’m usually doing something else simultaneously.

It’s a comedy show, about a culturally diverse group going to community college. On the surface, its very cutesy and whimsical, but underneath is far from the usual childishness accompanying those traits. Instead, you find the rapier humor of an intelligent adult surrounded by politically-correct sycophants.

Basically, if the PC were as insightful as they imagine, they would be outraged by Community. I like to think that’s the writers’ inside joke – the creator of Community is Dan Harmon, whom also manages Rick And Morty. Racism, sexism, classism, all the good stuff that upsets the sheltered, are staples of Community’s humor. But, being subtly delivered by lovable and silly characters in a comforting setting, they fly under the radar – though later seasons are increasingly overt.

Community’s clever delivery of “offensive” humor is my preferred style. For humor, at it’s best, addresses problems toward productive ends; and I like making people figure the precise shape of the joke. Though it should be noted that I don’t like subtly for the sake of protecting idiotic sensitivities. I like subtle humor because a psychologic trick can be preformed utilizing it: framing a joke so it’s on the edge of a person’s comfort zone causes low-grade metacog; they have to think, “Am I offended by this? Why am I offended? Should I change?”

Plus, Community displays how people can get along, enrich each others lives, and have tits loads of fun, when not behaving like animals. Crazy, huh. In this dark year, Community has been a beacon for me. A reminder that intelligence and sanity exist in the world, even if not currently near my heart. When nearest suicide, Community makes me feel at home, and laugh.


Show Reviews

Homepage

~ by Louis Naughtic on May 24, 2017.

Leave a Reply

